four levels of phaedo

Phaedo four levels Adventures in English

writer story PhaedoPhaedo

Plato ( 428/427  – 348/347 BC)


Literal Comprehension

The story “PHAEDO” has written by the Plato. In this story, Echecrates asked Phaedo to tell him about Socrates death and Phaedo feels happy to remember his friend Socrates in the final hour of his life. He says we used to go visit Socrates every day. We always spent some time with Socrates, also Crito was together. Socrates went another room to bathe and when he had taken his bath his children were brought to see him. He had two little sons, one big boy, and a woman Socrates told to woman and children to go away reacting with tears. While Socrates drank poison happily, he had said his last word to Crito, we ought to offer a cock to Asclepius. Then after his families, friends, relatives are weeping to remember him.


This story says we used to live our lives without fear as well as we can gain something from our life which makes our life comfortable. If we are not gain those things we have used to live our lives with fear or to do like Socrates. This story also says important to live. Also, to get respect in our society we have to gain some valuable thing from our life before we die. The main thing he has said, every story has an end but in life, every end is just a new beginning. In the story, he has said my die is born of other.

Critical thinking/ analysis

In this story whatever Socrates has done it difficult to believe. Also, he is the brave man who easily drinks poison. Seeing his activities I have some doubts ‘

  • Can a man easily drink poison so happily?
  • He does not like to live?
  • Can he weariness from his life?
  • Is it possible to believe whatever Socrates has done?


Before reading this text I have not a good knowledge about the importance of life. But after reading this text I know, we can make our life really valuable. And, I have the desire to do something which helps to my life make valuable.

for offline read download pdf file Plato story

                                                                                                                                                                                                  Also, read

four levels of Astyages Revenge 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: